First Plant of 2009

dscf3467Well, it took a bit of thinking and searching (I wasn’t initially planning to 011209downytry and plant letterboxes in winter), but I found a location for my first Quilt Stamp ~ Mennonites of Waterloo County.  This is the beginning of a series of 20 quilt stamps that will take you to different “Mennonite” locations in the extended Kitchener-Waterloo area.  (I have the 20 quilt squares picked out, but not all yet carved).  This one is in St. Jacob’s, the hub of Mennonite country.  It was a lovely excuse to get out of the truck and go for a short walk and get some fresh air and see some of the countryside.  (When I travel to KW I am spending 6 hours in the truck minimum).   I personally don’t enjoy the “hum” of the town as much as I enjoy the solitude of the trail.   There were lots of winter birds feeding along the trail and I got this picture of a downy woodpecker just after it left a suet ball.   It was a lovely afternoon jaunt ~ and there’s a new LB out there with a HH in it ~ for those of you in Ontario to search out.  Have fun!!!

One thought on “First Plant of 2009

Add yours

  1. St Jacobs is one of my favourite towns. I will definitely get out to look for it as soon as I can. I know exactly where the Mill Race trail is. Thanks for planting in the area. I’m looking forward to a tour of Mennonite country.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑