LBing plans and dreams

This is the time of year when I start to get really anxious to get out and find more boxes.  But even with our mild winter and really low snowfall, I still need to wait awhile here.  The LBs I have yet to find here in AB are mostly in the mountains, and they do have snow there!!!  Albeit, less than last year, but still snow.    So it will be awhile yet before I can get out to find them.   So… all I can do for now is dream and carve and plan.

So… the last few days I’ve been thinking of a trip to Montana.  That’s south about 3 hours to the US border and then south about another 3 hour loop around Montana.    I thought I had the trip all planned and then I remembered that I hadn’t checked the LbNA site.  My bad!!!  Apparently, many Montana LBers don’t use AQ.  So now I have some more work to do to get things all figured out.

I map everything (in each city even) and figure out what order I need to do them all in.   As RubberRabbit knows, I eliminate the mind-twister clues (since I don’t have anyone to solve them for me) and any that are really long hikes.  (When doing a trip like this I don’t want to be spending hours and hours hiking into the bush for LBxes.)   I currently have 140 boxes bookmarked, but am thinking that perhaps I might eliminate the lower loop portion of the trip.  We’ll see how it goes.

I have a friend who I am hoping will be able to come with me.  My family is NOT into driving and walking and driving and walking for 3 or 4 days at a time.  Plus, right now I’m the only one with the passport.  (We’ll have to remedy that some time).

Last week I also downloaded and printed a large number of images for my May event.  Now to get down to transfers and carving.  (I have a slab of orange PZ cut that 4sailors gave me.  I’m starting in on it this week!!)  I think if I have it all ready to go by mid-April I should be able to get out to JumpingPound and get them all planted in time for the event.   I’d like to have at least 20 images / boxes, if not more.  We’ll see if anyone signs up.

Anyways…..  lots of dreaming and planning.  And more dreaming!  I’ll keep updating my progress.

 

