Boxing Day Boxing

Today I spent a bunch of time making up a logbook for the Shepherd HH.   The whole thing is almost ready to go.  It will be sent on it’s way (to Oregon ~hopefully) in the next couple of days.  Here is some of the work in progress.

The clear laquer helps to protect the tin from rust.  It should always be inside another letterbox (theoretically), but I wanted to protect it from moisture as best as I could.

dscf33002

122708making-a-hitchhiker-letterbox4

The labels were then affixed to the outside of the tin and I wrote instructions on them (as well as on the front page of the logbook).   I spray laquered over the labels once I had taped the edges with clear hockey tape to make sure they stayed on.

The nail polish is to keep the post from loosening as the logbook is opened and closed.   Once everything dries completely it will all be ready to go!!

